Abbott v. Southwest Grain Co.
| Court | Kansas Supreme Court |
| Writing for the Court | PARKER, Justice. |
| Citation | Abbott v. Southwest Grain Co., 162 Kan. 315, 176 P.2d 839 (Kan. 1947) |
| Decision Date | 25 January 1947 |
| Docket Number | 36700. |
| Parties | ABBOTT v. SOUTHWEST GRAIN CO. et al. |
Rehearing Denied March 12, 1947.
Appeal from District Court, Hodgeman County; Lorin T. Peters, Judge.
Proceeding under the Workmen's Compensation Act by George Abbott, a minor, claimant, by his father and natural guardian, Jesse Abbott, opposed by the Southwest Grain Company, employer, and the Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company, insurance carrier. From a judgment awarding compensation, the employer and insurance carrier appeal.
Reversed with directions.
Syllabus by the Court.
1. Fundamental principles applicable to the disposition of an appeal in a workmen's compensation proceeding are reviewed and stated thus: (1) An appellate court is concerned only with evidence tending to support the award and does not consider any evidence warranting a different or contrary conclusion; (2) to be compensable under the workmen's compensation act an accidental injury must 'arise out of' as well as 'in the course of' the employment (3) even though this court does not weigh conflicting evidence the question of whether the trial court's judgment is supported by substantial competent evidence is a question of law as distinguished from a question of fact, and (4) the burden of establishing that an accidental injury arose out of and in the course of employment is upon the claimant.
2. Under the clear and unequivocal terms of G.S. 1935 44-508(k), there are no exceptions to the rule that the words 'arising out of and in the course of employment' as used in the workmen's conmpensation act shall not be construed to include injuries occurring to an employee while he is on the way to assume the duties of his employment.
3. Where the uncontroverted record in a workmen's compensation proceeding discloses that a workmen, employed as a helper in an elevator with no regular hours of employment, had quit work at night but later in the evening of the same day while on the way from his home to the elevator under instructions from his employer to close some open grain bin doors, sustained injury on the highway before arriving at the premises on which such elevator was locatted, it is held such injury occurred while on the way to assume duties of employment and is not compensable under the workmen's compensation act.
T. F. Railsback, of Kansas City (Russell L. Hazzard, of Dodge City, on the brief), for appellants.
O. A. Wilson, of Jetmore, for appellee.
This was a proceeding under the workmen's compensation act. At the hearing before the compensation commissioner the parties stipulated the respondent was operating under the act, the claimant was in its employ at a weekly wage of $48 a week or $8 per day, the Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company is the insurance carrier, and oral notice of the alleged accident was received by the respondent. It is now conceded a sufficient written claim was made within time. The only evidence adduced was by the claimant. Based on it both the commissioner and the district court granted an award, the all important finding of the latter being that on the date alleged claimant sustained personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of his employment with respondent while directly engaged in carrying out its orders in the furtherance of its business. Thereupon the respondent and the insurance carrier appealed.
Except for evidence to which we shall hereinafter make specific reference the factual situation on which the claim is based, can be summarized thus: Respondent operates a grain elevator in the south part of Jetmore, and Lester Abbott, a brother of the claimant, who lived in the northwest part of that city about one-half mile from where it is located, was its local manager; the claimant, a minor, worked at the elevator, and lived at Lester's home; his duties were to do whatever was to be done around the elevator; during the harvest season there were no regular working hours; on the 25th day of July, 1945, while harvest was in progress, Lester and George quit work at the elevator at about 8 p.m., leaving two hatches, or doors, in the roofs of the storage bin open; from the elevator they went directly to Lester's home for supper; after the evening meal George was instructed by Lester to go back to the elevator and close the two hatches; while on the way to perform that task, and as he went through the business part of the city, he induced a friend to take him to the elevator in an automobile; George and his friend never reached their destination; as they were proceeding in that direction the automobile in which they were riding collided with an unlighted parked truck and from this collision claimant suffered injuries which resulted in the partial loss of the use of his right arm and the institution of the present proceeding.
Particular portions of the evidence relied on by claimant as justifying the finding of the trial court to which we have heretofore referred will be pointed out.
Among other things Lester Abbott, who testified as a witness for the claimant said: 'During harvest season there were no regular working hours for anyone around the elevator; frequently the force would work until 9 or 10 o'clock; sometimes they would go home to supper and come back; the day's work wasn't finished until they got everything done which could be done that day; on days when they went home for supper and then worked after supper George usually went back with him; * * *'.
The record also credits him with having made this statement:
Specific questions propounded and answers made by him as a witness read:
Claimant as a witness on his own behalf made the following statements: 'Nothing was said about the hours or number of hours he worked; that they never worked any special time or quit at a special time but worked until they were through dumping wheat and things were cleaned up, all of which would be done before they went home.'
In addition the following questions and answers appear as a part of his testimony:
'
As we approach consideration of appellants' first specification of error, which is that the trial court erred in adjudging the claimant sustained personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of his employment with the respondent, let it be said there has been no attempt in our relation of the record facts to detail all the evidence. On the contrary our summary thereof and our reference to specific portions of the testimony are made without regard to any evidence contrary to the trial court's finding with full recognition of the rule, now so well grounded in this jurisdiction, as to preclude argument or debate (Stanley v. United Iron Works Co., 160 Kan. 243, 160 P.2d 708; Lane v. St. Louis Smelting & Refining Co., 160 Kan. 495, 496, 163 P.2d 362; Burk v. American Dist. Tel. Co., 160...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Pence v. Centex Const. Co.
...frankly admit, that such is the rule. See, e. g., Neal v. Boeing Airplane Co., 161 Kan. 322, 167 P.2d 643, also Abbott v. Southwest Grain Co., 162 Kan. 315, 176 P.2d 839, and other decisions cited at page 320 of the opinion in that case. Be that as it may it must be remembered, that in acti......
-
Taylor v. Centex Const. Co.
...v. Hudson Oil Co., 155 Kan. 486, 126 P.2d 225; Brandon v. Lozier-Broderick & Gordon, 160 Kan. 506, 163 P.2d 384; Abbott v. Southwest Grain Co., 162 Kan. 315, 176 P.2d 839; Pearson v. Electric Service Co., 166 Kan. 300, 201 P.2d 643; Murray v. Ludowici-Celadon Co., 181 Kan. 556, 313 P.2d 728......
-
Madison v. Key Work Clothes, Inc.
...158 Kan. 129, 145 P.2d 147, and Jones v. Lozier-Broderick and Gordon, 160 Kan. 191, 160 P.2d 932. In the case of Abbott v. Southwest Grain Co., 162 Kan. 315, 176 P.2d 839, a workman on the way from his home to the elevator of his employer under instructions from his employer to close some o......
-
Clifford v. Eacrett
... ... Mendel v. Fort Scott ... Hydraulic Cement Co., 147 Kan. 719, 78 P.2d 868; ... Abbott v. Southwest Grain Co., 162 Kan. 315, 326, ... 176 P.2d 839 ... Before ... we discuss ... ...