Box v. Cessna Aircraft Co.
| Court | Kansas Supreme Court |
| Writing for the Court | MILLER; Abbott |
| Citation | Box v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 689 P.2d 871, 236 Kan. 237 (Kan. 1984) |
| Decision Date | 26 October 1984 |
| Docket Number | No. 56391,56391 |
| Parties | Cecil C. BOX, Claimant-Appellee, v. CESSNA AIRCRAFT COMPANY, Defendant-Appellant, and The Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company, Defendant-Appellant, and Workers' Compensation Fund, Defendant-Appellee. |
Syllabus by the Court
1. "Emphysema," as used in K.S.A. 44-5a01, is to be defined in accordance with the ordinary English and medical dictionary definitions of the term. It does not include chronic bronchitis.
2. In an appeal by the employer and the insurance carrier from the award in a workers' compensation case involving occupational disease, the record is examined and it is held:
a) There was substantial, competent evidence to support the trial court's finding that claimant suffered from chronic bronchitis and not from emphysema.
b) The burden of proof was upon the claimant to establish his right to an award of compensation by proving the various conditions on which his right depends by a preponderance of the credible evidence.
c) The trial court did not err in finding that claimant's occupational disease was compensable, or in failing to assess the award against the Workers' Compensation Fund.
Randall E. Fisher of McDonald, Tinker, Skaer, Quinn & Herrington, Wichita, argued the cause, and Alvin D. Herrington, Wichita, of the same firm, was with him on briefs for appellants.
Robert L. Nicklin of Robert L. Nicklin, P.A., Wichita, argued the cause and was on brief for appellee Cecil C. Box.
Robert D. Steiger of Kahrs, Nelson, Fanning, Hite & Kellogg, Wichita, argued the cause and was on brief for appellee Workers' Compensation Fund.
This is an appeal from the District Court of Sedgwick County in a workers' compensation case. The trial court found that the claimant, Cecil C. Box, had sustained 100% permanent disability resulting from an occupational disease as defined in K.S.A. 44-5a01, and entered judgment for the workman and against his employer, Cessna Aircraft Company, and its insurance carrier, The Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company. None of the award was assessed against the Workers' Compensation Fund. Cessna and The Hartford appeal.
The claimant began working for Cessna in August of 1964. He was in good health and had had no prior respiratory ailments. He worked on "squawks," defects that appear on an airplane after its manufacture is complete. The area in which he worked was in or very near the paint shop. Frequently other workmen would be painting the plane while claimant worked on it. There was considerable evidence that the air in the area was often heavy with paints, lacquers, thinners, solvents, cleaners, and other chemicals being sprayed or used. About 1972 the claimant had pneumonia and was hospitalized for about a week. He returned to work and first started having breathing problems in the summer of 1976. He went into the hospital for a few days and then returned to work, but his respiratory problems continued. He last worked on February 15, 1977. A claim was filed and this proceeding was instituted shortly thereafter.
Three physicians testified and the report of a fourth was admitted by stipulation. Claimant's treating physicians were Dr. Dillis L. Hart, who is board certified in the area of general surgery, and Dr. Richard W. Spann, board certified as an internist and also in the subspecialty of pulmonary disease. Dr. R. Lawrence Sifford, board certified in internal medicine, and Dr. Curtis C. Drevets examined the claimant for the respondent. Both Dr. Hart and Dr. Spann diagnosed the claimant as suffering from chronic bronchitis. The differences between emphysema, bronchitis and obstructive pulmonary disease or obstructive airway disease were discussed at length during the examination of these witnesses. Dr. Spann testified clearly that the claimant's predominant disease is not emphysema but is chronic bronchitis, and he expressed the opinion that the cause of the bronchitis in this case was work-related. Dr. Sifford found no emphysema, no chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and in general found the claimant to be in excellent physical condition and able to do heavy work. He said that the claimant did have a little wheezing and a very slight amount of obstruction, but that he was physically healthy and had no disability. He expressed the opinion that claimant has mild intermittent bronchospasm and mild intermittent coughing, related to a mild bronchitis, caused in most probability by the inhalation of cigarette smoke. The letter from Dr. Drevets is written on the letterhead of the Wichita Clinic. It lists Dr. Drevets under internal medicine, allergy and pulmonary diseases. He expressed the opinion that claimant has mild obstructive airway disease. He expressed the suspicion that claimant's environment may have contributed in part to his current problem. Dr. Drevets did not consider the claimant disabled though he may have difficulty in returning to an environment where there are fumes or dust; but the doctor thought claimant had good enough pulmonary function to do other kinds of work.
There is extensive and conflicting evidence as to claimant's smoking history. He testified that he smoked cigarettes while he was in the service and then quit. He resumed smoking when he went to work for Cessna in 1964 and then quit in 1972 or 1973. During this time he smoked only about one-half pack a day. He has not smoked since then. There was evidence produced by the appellant, by way of Cessna medical records, indicating that claimant may have smoked more. This is also indicated by forms claimant filled out for the Disability Determination Services. Both sets of records contain inconsistent information. Claimant was required by Cessna to take an annual physical examination which was required of all employees in hazardous areas. Cessna's medical records consisted of forms claimant filled out at the time he took those examinations. The information thereon was conflicting. Respondent also presented a private investigator who testified she saw claimant smoking during the pendency of this action; claimant and two other witnesses disputed her testimony.
The district court announced its decision by way of letter memorandum. The court found that claimant had an occupational disease and that the disease was not emphysema. He found that Dr. Spann's training and experience was impressive, he being the only one of the four physicians who is board certified in the subspecialty of pulmonary diseases, the only one who has training in the effects of smoking and the cessation of smoking, and the only one who limits 90% of his practice to pulmonary and chest diseases. The court accepted Dr. Spann's testimony as the most credible and the most believable. The trial court found that the claimant's chronic bronchitis arose out of and in the course of his employment, and that he has suffered permanent total disability.
The issues raised on appeal deal extensively with the sufficiency of the evidence. Before turning to the issues, we should state the scope of our review and certain applicable principles. K.S.A. 44-501 provides:
"In proceedings under the workmen's compensation act, the burden of proof shall be on the claimant to establish his or her right to an award of compensation by proving the various conditions on which his or her right depends."
K.S.A.1983 Supp. 44-508(g) defines burden of proof, which reads:
" 'Burden of proof' means the burden of a party to persuade the trier of facts by a preponderance of the credible evidence that such party's position on an issue is more probably true than not true."
K.S.A. 44-5a01 reads in part as follows:
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Mohr v. State Bank of Stanley
...of the witnesses." A finding that the plaintiff did not sustain the burden of proof is a negative finding. Box v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 236 Kan. 237, 246, 689 P.2d 871 (1984). In a fraudulent conveyance action, fraud is never presumed and must be proved by clear and convincing evidence. The ......
-
Rodriguez v. Henkle Drilling & Supply Co.
...or showing of prejudice or malice toward the finder of facts. We will not set aside this negative finding. See Box v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 236 Kan. 237, 246, 689 P.2d 871 (1984). The trial court properly found that Candelario's suicide was not K.S.A.1991 Supp. 44-501(d) provides: "If it is ......
-
Roberts v. J.C. Penney Co.
...than the one which governs admissibility of expert opinions in civil trials. See K.S.A. 60-456(b); see also Box v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 236 Kan. 237, 243-44, 689 P.2d 871 (1984) ('The admissibility of evidence is more liberal in compensation cases, not more restrictive.') Contrary to the lo......
-
Witham v. Parris
...the final order of the district court. Dieter v. Lawrence Paper Co., 237 Kan. 139, 145, 697 P.2d 1300 (1985); Box v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 236 Kan. 237, 241, 689 P.2d 871 (1984); Crabtree v. Beech Aircraft Corp., 229 Kan. 440, 442, 625 P.2d 453 (1981); Heer v. Hankamer Excavating Co., 184 Ka......