Caldwell v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co., 42891
| Court | Mississippi Supreme Court |
| Writing for the Court | RODGERS; LEE |
| Citation | Caldwell v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co., 160 So.2d 209, 248 Miss. 767 (Miss. 1964) |
| Decision Date | 10 February 1964 |
| Docket Number | No. 42891,42891 |
| Parties | Sara P. CALDWELL, Executrix of Estate of J. H. Caldwell, Deceased, v. HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY. |
Ben M. Caldwell, Marks, Holcomb & Curtis, Clarksdale, for appellant.
Brewer, Brewer & Luckett, Semmes Luckett, Clarksdale, for appellee.
Appellant filed suit in the First Circuit Court District of Tallahatchie County, Mississippi, against appellee. She alleged in her declaration that she is the executrix of the last will of her late husband, J. H. Caldwell; that during his lifetime he entered into an automobile liability insurance contract with the defendant insurance company under date of November 15, 1961, for a period of one year. The policy provided, among other things, that the insurance company would pay all sums for which the insured became legally liable, for injury to persons or property by reason of the ownership, maintenance and use of the automobile or use of a non-owned automobile covered by the terms of the contract. The plaintiff alleged that the policy provided that the insurance company would defend any suit against the insured, seeking damages payable under the policy even if such allegations are groundless.
The declaration alleges that the insurance policy states, among other things, that:
'1. Coverage A--Bodily Injury Liability; Coverage C--Property Damage Liability;
'To pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of:
'Coverage A bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death resulting therefrom, hereinafter called 'bodily injury' sustained by any person;
'Coverage C injury to or destruction of property, including loss of use thereof, hereinafter called 'property damage'; arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of the owned automobile or any non-owned automobile, and the company shall defend any suit alleging such bodily injury or property damage and seeking damages which are payable under the terms of this policy, even if the allegations of the suit are groundless, false or fraudulent; but the company may make such investigation and settlement of any claim or suit as it deems expedient.'
'4. Definitions: Under Section 1: 'named insured' means the individual named in Item I of the declarations and also includes his spouse, if a resident of the same household; 'insured' means a person or organization described under 'Persons Insured' * * * 'owned automobile' means private passenger, farm or utility automobile or trailer owned by the named insured, and includes a temporary substitute automobile; 'temporary substitute automobile' means any automobile or trailer, not owned by the named insured, while temporarily used as a substitute for the owned automobile or trailer when withdrawn from the normal use because of its breakdown, repair, servicing, loss or destruction; 'non-owned automobile' means an automobile or trailer not owned by or furnished for the regular use of either the named insured or any relative, other than a temporary substitute automobile * * *'.
The amendment to the policy states:
The declaration alleges that on or about the 18th of June 1961, within the terms of the policy, J. H. Caldwell attempted to use his Oldsmobile, insured under the policy, but found that one of the tires was about flat. He then borrowed his wife's Chevrolet automobile to make the trip because his automobile was 'temporarily withdrawn from use.'
The insured made the trip in the substitute automobile belonging to his wife, and on his way back home he had an accident. Tom Bruce Winters was injured. The insured notified the insurer of the accident, and defendant sent an adjuster to investigate it and the adjuster advised the insured that the company was secondarily liable and that the insurance company would pay the excess over and above any liability, his wife's insurance carrier did not pay within the limits of their policy. On the basis of this statement by the adjuster, the defendant effected a tentative settlement on the other policy in which his wife was a joint-defendant.
The defendant insurance company thereafter declined to participate in the settlement of the litigation and the first suit against J. H. Caldwell, et al. was dismissed. Tom Bruce Winters filed his second suit against J. H. Caldwell in the sum of $150,000. The insured properly requested the defendant insurance company to furnish him with legal counsel, but defendant refused to defend the lawsuit and denied liability. The insured employed counsel and defended the suit, nevertheless a judgment was obtained against the insured, in favor of Tom Bruce Winters in the sum of $10,750, and the declaration alleges that the insured was forced to pay $750 over and above the amount paid by the carrier of the insurance on Mrs. J. H. Caldwell's car. The appellant alleges he was required to pay $2,500 attorney's fee to defend the suit brought against him, and that it was also necessary for him to expend the sum of $750 incident to the defense of these suits and incident to the prosecution of the present action. Judgment was sought in the total sum of $4,000.
The appellee filed a copy of the insurance policy as a part of, and attached to, the declaration which includes an amendment to the original policy, both dated November 13, 1960.
The appellee states in its brief that there was an amendment dated February 15, 1961, but there is nothing in the declaration to indicate that there was a second amendment to the policy.
It is alleged by the appellee, and admitted by the appellant, that the question to be determined by this appeal is whether or not the use of the automobile belonging to the insured's wife was a 'temporary substitute automobile' within the meaning of the policy.
The insurance company argues that since the automobile described in the policy was not the automobile used by Caldwell at the time of the accident, the policy did not cover the loss unless it was an automobile used as a 'temporary substitute' for the automobile described in the policy. The appellee points out that the policy defines the temporary substitute automobile as: "temporary substitute automobile' means any automobile or trailer, not owned by the named insured, while temporarily used as a substitute for the owned automobile or trailer when...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Great Northern Nekoosa v. Aetna Cas. and Sur. Co.
...equally reasonable, that interpretation which gives greater indemnity to the insured will prevail." Caldwell v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 248 Miss. 767, 160 So.2d 209 (1960). The construction of an insurance contract is limited to an examination of the "written terms" of the policy......
-
Centennial Ins. Co. v. Ryder Truck Rental, Inc.
...interpretations, a court must adopt the one giving the greater indemnity to the insured. See Caldwell v. Hartford Accident & Indem. Co., 248 Miss. 767, 160 So.2d 209, 213 (1964). Sixth, where it discerns no practical difficulty in making the language of an insurance policy free from doubt, ......
-
Brander v. Nabors
...250 Miss. 542, 164 So.2d 426, suggestion of error overruled, 250 Miss. 542, 168 So.2d 119 (1964); Caldwell v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 248 Miss. 767, 160 So.2d 209 (1964), since "the power to make such contracts as the parties desire to make, when not prohibited by law or public p......
-
Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v. Yelverton
...equally reasonable, that interpretation which gives greater indemnity to the insured will prevail." Caldwell v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 248 Miss. 767, 160 So.2d 209 (1964). However, it is also well-settled law that "the special rules favoring the insured are only applicable when ......