Garrard v. Texas Employers Insurance Association, 7746
| Court | Texas Civil Court of Appeals |
| Writing for the Court | DENTON |
| Citation | Garrard v. Texas Employers Insurance Association, 423 S.W.2d 93 (Tex. Ct. App. 1967) |
| Decision Date | 18 December 1967 |
| Docket Number | No. 7746,7746 |
| Parties | Jack Y. GARRARD, Appellant, v. TEXAS EMPLOYERS INSURANCE ASSOCIATION, Appellee. . Amarillo |
Warren Burnett, Odessa, for appellant.
Underwood, Wilson, Sutton, Heare & Berry and Harlow Sprouse, Amarillo, for appellee.
This is a workmen's compensation case. The jury found Garrard was totally and permanently disabled and that another employee of the same class as the plaintiff had worked at least 210 days of the year immediately preceding plaintiff's injuries in the same or similar employment in the same or neighboring place, and found the average weekly wage rate earned by such employee was such as to entitle Garrard to the maximum compensation rate. The trial court sustained appellee's motion for judgment non obstante veredicto, and held there was no evidence to support the wage rate fixed by the jury and rendered judgment for the plaintiff for 401 weeks of compensation benefits at the statutory minimum of.$9.00 per week.
Appellee pleaded it had paid Garrard the sum of $385.00 as compensation for the alleged injury and alleged such payment discharged it from any liability and in the alternative, sought credit for this amount. During the trial the parties entered into the following stipulation:
'It is stipulated by and between the parties, plaintiff and defendant, that the defendant has paid to the plaintiff prior to this date the sum of eleven weeks compensation at the rate of $35.00 a week and that such may be taken as a fact in the record without offering any evidence herein and credit any recovery by the plaintiff.'
Appellant asserts that appellee has judicially admitted Garrard's right to recover maximum wage rate benefits by an inconsistent position by entering into the stipulation before the court. It is well settled that the amount paid by the insuror is not conclusive upon the insuror nor does it constitute a judicial admission. Southern Underwriters v. Schoolcraft, 138 Tex. 323, 158 S.W.2d 991. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Hale (Tex.Sup.Ct.) 400 S.W.2d 310. Travelers Insurance Co. v. Sides (Tex.Civ.App.) 403 S.W.2d 519 (Ref. N.R.E.). We therefore conclude the pleadings and stipulation do not constitute a judicial admission as to Garrard's wage rate.
Appellant next takes the position the trial court erred in holding there was no evidence to support the finding of the jury fixing the wage rate. The wage rate was submitted under Subsection (2) of Article 8309, Section 1, Vernon's Ann.Civ.St., that is, the average weekly wage rate of another employee who had done similar work in the same or neighboring place. It was uncontroverted Garrard had not worked substantially the whole of the year at his employment immediately prior to his injury. Witness Burch was the only witness offered to prove the wage rate under Subdivision (2). He testified in part:
'Q. 29th of April of 1964 and 29th of April of 1965.
'
' .
...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Employers Ins. of Wausau v. Schaefer
...wage rate under one of the three subsections of Article 8309, § 1. Tex.Rev.Civ.Stat.Ann. (Vernon 1967); Garrard v. Texas Employers' Insurance Ass'n., 423 S.W.2d 93, 95 (Tex.Civ.App.--Amarillo 1967, no writ); Young v. Universal Underwriters Insurance Co., 352 S.W.2d 784, 785 (Tex.Civ.App.--A......
-
Texas Employers' Ins. Ass'n v. Bragg
...weekly wages. Garcia v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Company, 542 S.W.2d 477 (Tex.Civ.App.--Tyler 1976, no writ); Garrard v. Texas Employers' Insurance Association, 423 S.W.2d 93 (Tex.Civ.App.--Amarillo 1967, no writ). In this case, the applicable provision of TEX.REV.CIV.STAT.ANN. art. 8309 § 1......
-
Texas Employers' Insurance Association v. Shannon
...Travelers Ins. Co. v. Sides, 403 S.W.2d 519 (1966, writ refused n.r.e.), and by the Amarillo Court of Civil Appeals in Garrard v. Texas Employers Ins. Assn., 423 S.W.2d 93 (1967, no writ), where Chief Justice Denton wrote, 'It is well settled that the amount paid by the insuror is not concl......
-
Aetna Insurance Company v. Giddens
...the Ford case.' (462 S.W.2d 559 at 563). Here plaintiff did not even express such an opinion. See also: Garrard v . Texas Employers Insurance Association, 423 S.W.2d 93 (Tex.Civ.App.--Amarillo 1967, no writ); Texas Employers Insurance Association v. Smith, 469 S.W.2d 486 (Tex.Civ.App.--Texa......