Horney v. Scott
| Court | Court of Appeal of Louisiana |
| Writing for the Court | HAMITER, Judge. |
| Citation | Horney v. Scott, 171 So. 172 (La. App. 1936) |
| Decision Date | 11 December 1936 |
| Docket Number | 5275 |
| Parties | HORNEY v. SCOTT |
M. C Redmond, of Monroe, for appellant.
Theus Grisham, Davis & Leigh, of Monroe, for appellee.
In his petition plaintiff alleges, in substance, that on September 12, 1934, while acting in the scope of his employment as a laborer for the defendant, he received a rupture or hernia when raising a large bridge timber; that by reason of such injury he was rendered totally incapacitated to do work of any kind; that he was entitled, under the workmen's compensation laws of Louisiana, to 65 per cent. of his wages during disability not to exceed 400 weeks; and that on or about January 8, 1935, a compromise lump-sum settlement with defendant was entered into wherein he was paid $ 200 as full settlement for his claim arising under the accident.
There is attached to the petition a certified copy of the court proceedings, which authorized and approved the purported lump-sum settlement, and to which we shall hereafter refer.
Plaintiff further alleges that the lump-sum settlement was contrary to law, in that the amount due him was discounted at a rate greater than 8 per cent. per annum.
The prayer of the petition is for judgment setting aside the settlement agreement, and for compensation for 400 weeks at one and one-half times 65 per cent. of his wages, plus medical expenses in the amount of $ 250, less the sum of $ 200 previously paid.
After the district judge overruled an exception of no cause or right of action tendered by defendant, an answer was filed. On the day of the trial of the merits, such exception was again urged. This resulted in the previous ruling being recalled and the exception of no cause of action being sustained and plaintiff's suit dismissed. Plaintiff then asked for and was granted an order of devolutive appeal returnable to this court.
The joint petition in the alleged settlement proceeding, which was signed by plaintiff, by his then attorney and by the attorneys for defendant, reads in part as follows:
Under its exception of no cause of action, defendant urges in this court the following:
Section 17 of that act, as amended (Gen. St. §4407), reads:
A lump-sum settlement of compensation payments is authorized under section 8, subsec. 9, of the act, where the settlement is commuted on a term agreed upon by the employer and claimant, and where there is no room for dispute as to the applicability of the Compensation Act, the extent of the injury, and employee's average weekly wage at the time; provided that the payments due are not discounted at a rate greater than 8 per cent. per annum, that the settlement has the approval of a competent court, as reasonably complying with the provisions of the act, and that, for the injuries scheduled in subsections 1 (d) and 2 of such section, no shorter term than therein set forth shall be agreed on.
If, however, there are grounds for dispute, as, for example, with reference to the extent of the injury, or to claimant's right to the benefits afforded by the Compensation Act, and the parties interested are aware of the facts surrounding the accident and possess information regarding the injury sufficient for reasonably determining the probable effects and duration of the attending disability, such parties may compromise or settle the claim under the authority of and on complying with the provisions of said section 17. The agreement of settlement or compromise shall be reduced to writing and shall be substantially in accord with the various provisions of the Compensation Act, and shall be approved by the court.
In the absence of fraud, ill practice, or misrepresentation settlements properly made under and pursuant to the provisions of the above-quoted sections are forever valid and binding on the parties. Plaintiff, in the case of Musick v. Central Carbon Co., 166 La. 355, 117 So. 277, 280, sought to set aside a previously made and judicially approved settlement of an alleged compensation claim growing out of the death of her husband. The joint petition of the widow and employer, under which the settlement was made, recited that decedent was burned on December 28, 1923, while discharging the duties of his employment; that he contracted pneumonia on or about February 1, 1924, and died four days later as a result of the pneumonia contracted; and that the employer denied liability for the death of the deceased, for the reason that the injuries received by him while in defendant's employment were not the cause of the death. The Supreme Court held the settlement of the claim to be authorized under the provisions of section 17 of the Compensation Act, because a dispute and doubt existed as to whether the death of decedent was caused by the injury. In sustaining an exception of no cause of action, the court commented on the two above-quoted sections as follows: ...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
- Smith v. Monroe Grocery Co.
-
Jenkins v. Pemberton
...under and in compliance with the provisions of the Act are valid and binding on the parties and beyond successful attack. Horney v. Scott, La.App., 171 So. 172; Self v. Wyatt Lumber Co., Inc., The established jurisprudence of this State in determining whether issues are in dispute as a basi......
-
McCastle v. Architectural Stone Co.
...jurisprudence: Musick v. Central Carbon Company, Inc., 166 La. 355, 117 So. 277; Young v. Glynn, 171 La. 371, 131 So. 51; Horney v. Scott, La.App., 171 So. 172; Calhoun Louisiana Delta Hardwood Lumber Co. et al., La.App., 182 So. 362; Self v. Wyatt Lumber Co., Inc., La.App., 189 So. 327; Wa......
-
Bradford v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co.
...355, 117 So. 277; Guillot v. Louisiana Ry. & Nav. Co., 166 La. 467, 117 So. 558; Young v. Glynn, 171 La. 371, 131 So. 51; Horney v. Scott, __ La.App. __, 171 So. 172; Calhoun v. Louisiana Delta Hardwood Lumber Co., La.App. __, 182 So. 362; Peyton Self v. Wyatt Lumber Co., Inc., 189 So. 327,......