Life Ins. Co. of Georgia v. Thomas
| Court | Georgia Court of Appeals |
| Writing for the Court | PANNELL; HALL, P.J., and QUILLIAN |
| Citation | Life Ins. Co. of Georgia v. Thomas, 194 S.E.2d 625, 127 Ga.App. 682 (Ga. App. 1972) |
| Decision Date | 01 December 1972 |
| Docket Number | No. 47474,No. 2,47474,2 |
| Parties | LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY OF GEORGIA v. Adelaide C. THOMAS |
Sanders, Hester, Holley, Askin & Dye, William J. Williams, Otis F. Askin, Fred K. Harvey, Jr., Augusta, for appellant.
Hull, Towill, Norman, Barrett & Johnson, Wyckliffe A. Knox, Jr., Augusta, for appellee. Syllabus Opinion by the Court
This is an appeal from the denial of the defendant-insurer's motion for summary judgment in an action by the beneficiary wife seeking recovery for accidental death benefits under an insurance policy allegedly issued by defendant. The defendant admitted the issuance of the policy but denied that the deceased husband died as a result of an accident, as defined in the policy. No copy of the policy was attached to the pleadings, nor is it a part of the record in the case sent to this court. A decision of the case depends upon the construction of the insuring clause, and any exclusionary clauses relating thereto. Appellant's brief contains the following statement not controverted by the appellee: 'In her complaint, Mrs. Thomas alleged coverage under Life Insurance Company of Georgia Policy Number GL 190 654. Prior counsel for defendant, as well as counsel for plaintiff, inadvertently omitted making a copy of the policy a part of the record. However, in accordance with Rule 18(b)(1) of the Rules of the Court of Appeals (former Rule 17(b)(1); 111 Ga.App. 883, 890) and by agreement of counsel on this appeal, counsel for appellant states that the group policy (Number GAH 190-A) contains the following provision: 'If bodily injury effected solely through external, violent and accidental means shall be sustained by a member while insured and shall result directly and independently of all other causes, within ninety days after the date of the accident, in any one of the losses set forth in the table below, the company, subject to all the provisions of this policy, will pay to the member, if living, otherwise to the member's beneficiary an amount determined in accordance with said table. Only one of the amounts, the largest so specified, will be paid for all injuries resulting from any accident. For loss of Life . . .. The Principal Sum. " Held:
1. .' Jenkins v. Board of Zoning...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Belluso v. Sunnyland Foods, Inc.
...225 Ga. 91(1), 166 S.E.2d 88.' Jenkins v. Board of Zoning Appeals, 122 Ga.App. 412(2), 177 S.E.2d 204." Life Ins. Co. of Ga. v. Thomas, 127 Ga.App. 682, 683, 194 S.E.2d 625, 626. However, even if we could consider this enumeration, the admission or exclusion of photographs is a matter of di......
-
National Heritage Corp. v. Mount Olive Memorial Gardens, Inc.
...(Cits.)' Jenkins v. Board of Zoning Appeals, of City of Columbus, 122 Ga.App. 412(2), 177 S.E.2d 204." Life Ins. Co. of Ga. v. Thomas, 127 Ga.App. 682, 683(1), 194 S.E.2d 625, 626 (1972). If National Heritage had the certificate to offer, it was incumbent upon it to put it in evidence and c......
-
First Nat. Bank of Atlanta v. McClendon
...must be made on the record sent to this court by the clerk of the court below and not upon the brief of counsel. Life Ins. Co. v. Thomas, 127 Ga.App. 682, 194 S.E.2d 625. This argument presents nothing for this court to The bank proved its note and demand for attorney fees. Appellee McClend......
-
Life Ins. Co. of Georgia v. Thomas
...moved for summary judgment, which was denied, and on appeal to this court, the judgment was affirmed. See Life Ins. Co. of Ga. v. Thomas, 127 Ga.App. 682, 194 S.E.2d 625. After a trial showing generally the above facts, as well as considerable other conflicting evidence raising issues for t......