Loflin v. Loflin
| Court | North Carolina Court of Appeals |
| Writing for the Court | MALLARD |
| Citation | Loflin v. Loflin, 186 S.E.2d 660, 13 N.C.App. 574 (N.C. App. 1972) |
| Decision Date | 23 February 1972 |
| Docket Number | No. 7219IC159,7219IC159 |
| Parties | Joseph L. LOFLIN, Employee, Plaintiff, v. James C. LOFLIN, Builder, Employer, Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, Carrier, Defendants. |
John Randolph Ingram, Asheboro, for plaintiff appellant.
I. Weisner Farmer, Raleigh, for defendant appellees.
Anderson v. Motor Co., 233 N.C. 372, 64 S.E.2d 265 (1951). Anderson was decided in 1951. In 1955 the General Assembly, by Section 7 of Chapter 1026 of the Session Laws, enacted what is now G.S. § 97--31(23). The portions of G.S. § 97--31 pertinent to this appeal read as follows:
'In cases included by the following schedule the compensation in each case shall be paid for Disability during the Healing period and In addition the disability shall be deemed to continue for the periods specified, and Shall be in lieu of all other compensation, including disfigurement, to wit:
(23) For the total loss of use of the back, sixty per centum (60%) of the average weekly wages during 300 weeks. The compensation for Partial loss of use of the back shall be such proportion of the periods of payment herein provided for total loss as such partial loss bears to total loss, except that in cases where there is seventy-five per centum (75%) or more loss of use of the back, in which event the injured employee shall be deemed to have suffered 'total industrial disability' and compensated as for total loss of use of the back.' (Emphasis added.)
The plaintiff contends that all of the evidence shows that, due to the injury to his back, he is totally unable to perform the essential duties of a carpenter, his occupation prior to his injury, and that the North Carolina Industrial Commission (Commission) committed error in failing to so find. The Commission made factual findings, supported by competent evidence, on all of the crucial issues before it. Under these findings, the disability deemed to continue after the healing period of plaintiff's injuries is made compensable under the provisions of G.S. § 97--31(23) without regard to the loss of wage-earning power and in lieu of all other compensation. See, Dudley v. Downtowner Motor Inn, 13 N.C.App. 474, 186 S.E.2d 188 (1972). The General Assembly, when it enacted G.S. § 97--31 and, in 1955, made it applicable to the partial loss of use of the back, provided that compensation payable thereunder was 'in lieu of all other compensation.' 'The language of G.S. § 97--31 is clear, and its provisions are mandatory.' Watts v. Brewer, 243 N.C. 422, 90 S.E.2d 764 (1956). The fact that an injury is one of those enumerated in the schedule of payments set forth under G.S. § 97--31 precludes the Commission from awarding compensation under any other provision of the Act. Watts v. Brewer, Supra. Under the provisions of G.S. § 97--31, plaintiff was entitled to, and did receive compensation for disability from his injuries...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Harrell v. Harriet & Henderson Yarns
...296 N.C. 88, 94-95, 249 S.E.2d 397, 401 (1978); Watts v. Brewer, 243 N.C. 422, 424, 90 S.E.2d 764, 767 (1956); Loflin v. Loflin, 13 N.C.App. 574, 577, 186 S.E.2d 660, 662, cert. denied, 281 N.C. 154, 187 S.E.2d 585 Defendants argue no compensation may be awarded under G.S. 97-31 unless clai......
-
Hollar v. Montclair Furniture Co., Inc., 8010IC113
...and (3) that the injury arose out of the employment. Gallimore v. Marilyn's Shoes, 292 N.C. 399, 233 S.E.2d 529 (1977); Loflin v. Loflin, 13 N.C.App. 574, 186 S.E.2d 660, cert. denied, 281 N.C. 154, 187 S.E.2d 585 (1972). In the case now before us, there is no dispute as to whether plaintif......
-
Peoples v. Cone Mills Corp., 8310IC183
...employment, the same wage earned before the injury. Hilliard v. Apex Cabinet Co., 305 N.C. 593, 290 S.E.2d 682 (1982); Loflin v. Loflin, 13 N.C.App. 574, 186 S.E.2d 660, cert. denied, 281 N.C. 154, 187 S.E.2d 585 (1972). In determining whether a claimant has met this burden before the Indus......
-
Crawley v. Southern Devices, Inc.
...impairment irrespective of ability to work or loss of wage earning power, and is in lieu of all other compensation. Loflin v. Loflin, 13 N.C.App. 574, 186 S.E.2d 660 (1972). Defendants assign error to the determinations with respect to both temporary and permanent disability. Defendants con......