Niacc, LLC v. Greenwich Insurance Company

CourtNew York Supreme Court — Appellate Division
CitationNiacc, LLC v. Greenwich Insurance Company, 51 A.D.3d 883, 857 N.Y.S.2d 723, 2008 NY Slip Op 4665 (N.Y. App. Div. 2008)
Decision Date20 May 2008
Docket Number2007-04188.
PartiesNIACC, LLC, et al., Respondents, v. GREENWICH INSURANCE COMPANY, Appellant.

Ordered that the order is affirmed, with costs.

The unambiguous terms of an insurance contract must be accorded their plain and ordinary meaning (see Teichman v Community Hosp. of W. Suffolk, 87 NY2d 514, 520 [1996]; Breed v Insurance Co. of N. Am., 46 NY2d 351, 355 [1978]; Toyota Motor Credit Corp. v Felton, 305 AD2d 582, 583 [2003]). Any ambiguity, however, must be construed against the insurer as the drafter of the policy (see Guardian Life Ins. Co. of Am. v Schaefer, 70 NY2d 888, 890 [1987]; Commercial Union Ins. Co. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 36 AD3d 645 [2007]; Matter of Eveready Ins. Co. v Farrell, 304 AD2d 830, 831 [2003]). Whether or not a provision in an insurance policy is ambiguous is a question of law for the court to determine (see General Elec. Capital Corp. v Volchyok, 2 AD3d 777, 778 [2003]; Atlantic Mut. Ins. Co. v Terk Tech. Corp., 309 AD2d 22, 28 [2003]). "The test for ambiguity is whether the language in the insurance contract is `susceptible of two reasonable interpretations'" (MDW Enters. v CNA Ins. Co., 4 AD3d 338, 340-341 [2004], quoting State of New York v Home Indem. Co., 66 NY2d 669, 671 [1985]). The focus of the test is on "the reasonable expectations of the average insured upon reading the policy" (Penna v Federal Ins. Co., 28 AD3d 731, 732 [2006], quoting Matter of Mostow v State Farm Ins. Cos., 88 NY2d 321, 326-327 [1996]; see Butler v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 274 AD2d 924, 925-926 [2000]).

The Supreme Court correctly determined that certain provisions in a commercial liability policy issued by the defendant to the plaintiffs which pertained to "Loss Conditions" were ambiguous and that, construed against the defendant, the provisions required the defendant to reimburse the plaintiffs for guard services retained to protect the subject property after a fire that was the covered cause of loss. Contrary to the defendant's contention, the record does not establish that, after the fire, the...

Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI

Get Started for Free

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex
20 cases
  • 720 Miller Ave Realty LLC v. Norguard Ins. Co.
    • United States
    • New York Supreme Court
    • 2 Octubre 2018
    ..."Any ambiguity, however, must be construed against the insurer as the drafter of the policy." NIACC, LLC v. Greenwich Ins. Co., 51 A.D.3d 883, 884, 857 N.Y.S.2d 723, 724 [2nd Dept, 2008]. It is undisputed between theparties that the Protective Safeguard language is included. This dispute ar......
  • Rainbow USA Inc. v. Zurich American Insurance Company
    • United States
    • New York Supreme Court
    • 27 Enero 2022
    ...settled the court must determine as a threshold question whether an insurance term is ambiguous ( NIACC, LLC v. Greenwich Insurance Company , 51 A.D.3d 883, 857 N.Y.S.2d 723 [2d Dept., 2008] ). "The test for ambiguity is whether the provision is ‘susceptible of two reasonable interpretation......
  • Walker v. Tighe
    • United States
    • New York Supreme Court — Appellate Division
    • 10 Agosto 2016
    ...omitted]; see Richner Communications, Inc. v. Tower Ins. Co. of N.Y., 72 A.D.3d 670, 898 N.Y.S.2d 615 ; NIACC, LLC v. Greenwich Ins. Co., 51 A.D.3d 883, 884, 857 N.Y.S.2d 723 ). Here, the defendants failed to establish their prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law dismissing ......
  • J. Mullen & Sons, Inc. v. Cincinnati Ins. Co.
    • United States
    • New York Supreme Court
    • 15 Octubre 2020
    ... ... MULLEN & SONS, INC., Plaintiff, v. CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY and RAYMOND VAZQUEZ, Defendants. Index No. EF010096-2018 Supreme ... Federal Ins. Co., 147 A.D.3d 734 [2nd ... Dept. 2017]; NIACC, LLC v. Greenwich Ins. Co., 51 ... A.D.3d 883 [2nd Dept. 2008]. A ... ...
  • Get Started for Free
2 books & journal articles
  • CHAPTER 4 First-Party Insurance
    • United States
    • Full Court Press Insurance for Real Estate-Related Entities
    • Invalid date
    ...of infected swine were recoverable as mitigation expenses in loss under farm policy). New York: NIACC, L.L.C. v. Greenwich Insurance Co., 51 A.D.3d 883, 857 N.Y.S.2d 723 (2008); Benjamin Shapiro Realty Co. v. Agricultural Insurance Co., 287 A.D.2d 389, 731 N.Y.S.2d 453, 454 (2001) (loss mit......
  • Chapter 4
    • United States
    • Full Court Press Business Insurance
    • Invalid date
    ...of infected swine were recoverable as mitigation expenses in loss under farm policy). New York: NIACC, L.L.C. v. Greenwich Insurance Co., 51 A.D.3d 883, 857 N.Y.S.2d 723 (2008); Benjamin Shapiro Realty Co. v. Agricultural Insurance Co., 287 A.D.2d 389, 731 N.Y.S.2d 453, 454 (2001) (loss mit......