Redland Ins. Co. v. CEM Site Constructors, Inc.

CourtFlorida District Court of Appeals
Writing for the CourtKHOUZAM
CitationRedland Ins. Co. v. CEM Site Constructors, Inc., 86 So. 3d 1259 (Fla. App. 2012)
Decision Date09 May 2012
Docket NumberNo. 2D11–2349.,2D11–2349.
PartiesREDLAND INSURANCE COMPANY, Appellant, v. CEM SITE CONSTRUCTORS, INC.; Charles E. McLeod III; Charles E. McLeod Jr.; Arlete Jorge, as parent of John P. Jorge and as Successor Personal Representative of the Estate of John P. Jorge; Auto Owners Insurance Company; Fresh Pack, Inc.; and Jesus J. Torres, Jr., Appellees.

OPINION TEXT STARTS HERE

Susan S. Lerner of Russo Appellate Firm, P.A., Miami; and Luks, Santaniello, Petrillo & Jones, Miami, for Appellant.

James S. Cunha of Law Offices of James S. Cunha, P.A., West Palm Beach, for Appellee Arlete Jorge, as parent of John P. Jorge and as Successor Personal Representative of the Estate of John P. Jorge.

No appearance for remaining Appellees.

KHOUZAM, Judge.

Redland Insurance Company appeals the trial court's order granting summary judgment in favor of the defendants below. Because summary judgment was improperly granted, we reverse and remand for further proceedings.

CEM Site Constructors, Inc. (CEM), is a corporation owned and managed by Charles McLeod Jr. In December 2008, CEM applied for and received a commercial auto insurance policy from Redland with an effective date of December 10, 2008. Included in the application was a “Commercial Auto Drivers List” that did not contain a definition for the term “driver.” The application and accompanying policy also did not indicate who should be named on the list. It was unclear whether the list should include only those employees who regularly drove for the company, or instead anyone who could conceivably be expected to drive for the company at any time.1 Some CEM employees were included on the drivers list, but Charles McLeod III was not.

On August 3, 2009, McLeod III was involved in an automobile accident while driving one of McLeod Jr.'s personal vehicles on company business. The accident resulted in the death of John P. Jorge, the driver of the other vehicle. Jorge's personal representative sued CEM for his wrongful death, and CEM made a claim with Redland for liability coverage under the policy. Redland denied the claim because of CEM's failure to include McLeod III on the drivers list.

In February 2010, Redland filed a two-count declaratory action against a number of defendants, including CEM, McLeod Jr., McLeod III, and the personal representative of John P. Jorge. In the first count, Redland requested a declaration that it was entitled to rescission of the policy under section 627.409(1), Florida Statutes (2008), alleging that the failure to include McLeod III on the drivers list constituted a fraudulent, material misrepresentation rendering the entire policy void ab initio. Redland's second count sought a declaration that, even if the entirepolicy was not void, McLeod III was excluded from coverage for failure to qualify as an “insured” under the policy's terms because he was an employee driving a vehicle owned by a member of his household.2

Following some discovery, the decedent's personal representative moved for summary judgment, raising three grounds: first, that the terms of the application were ambiguous, specifically because the term “driver” was not defined anywhere in the policy; second, that McLeod III was not an employee at the time CEM completed and submitted the application; and third, that McLeod III qualified as an “insured” under the policy because he was not a member of McLeod Jr.'s household at the time of the collision.

At the summary judgment hearing, argument focused on the first ground. Specifically, the defendants below argued that because the term “driver” was not defined in the application, it was ambiguous, and therefore as a matter of law there could be no misrepresentation regardless of any of the factual issues in dispute. The defendants relied upon Great Oaks Casualty Insurance Co. v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 530 So.2d 1053 (Fla. 4th DCA 1988), in support of this position, arguing that if there was any ambiguity over the term “driver,” then summary judgment would be appropriate. Redland argued in response that the issue of ambiguity involved material questions of fact not properly resolved by summary judgment.

The court granted the motion, noting that Great Oaks was controlling on the ambiguity issue because of Redland's failure to define “driver” in its own application. After...

Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI

Get Started for Free

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex
5 cases
  • Pozanco v. FJB 6501, Inc.
    • United States
    • Florida District Court of Appeals
    • June 1, 2022
    ...the nonmoving party cannot prevail were a trial to be held."2 Gidwani, 248 So. 3d at 207 (quoting Redland Ins. Co. v. Cem Site Constructors, Inc., 86 So. 3d 1259, 1261 (Fla. 2d DCA 2012) ). An issue of fact is "genuine" for summary judgment purposes if it could allow a jury to return a verd......
  • Gidwani v. Roberts, 3D17–677
    • United States
    • Florida District Court of Appeals
    • May 9, 2018
    ...principle, a " ‘motion for summary judgment is not a substitute for a trial on the merits.’ " Redland Ins. Co. v. Cem Site Constructors, Inc., 86 So.3d 1259, 1261 (Fla. 2d DCA 2012) (quoting Hervey v. Alfonso, 650 So.2d 644, 646 (Fla. 2d DCA 1995) ). " ‘Summary judgment is appropriate only ......
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Cockram
    • United States
    • U.S. District Court — Middle District of Florida
    • October 16, 2012
    ...already found that the statutory right to rescission applies in a situation such as in this case. E.g., Redland Ins. Co. v. Cem Site Constructors, Inc. 86 So. 3d 1259 (Fla. 2d DCA 2012); Mercury Ins. Co. of Fla. v. Markham, 36 So. 3d 730 (Fla. 1st DCA 2010); Penaranda v. Progressive Am. Ins......
  • Castro v. Homeowners Choice Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co.
    • United States
    • Florida District Court of Appeals
    • August 23, 2017
    ...fact,’ " Winston Park, Ltd. v. City of Coconut Creek, 872 So.2d 415, 418 (Fla 4th DCA 2004). Redland Ins. Co. v. Cem Site Constructors, Inc., 86 So.3d 1259, 1261 (Fla. 2d DCA 2012). When an insurance carrier investigates a claim of loss and denies coverage because it concludes that a covere......
  • Get Started for Free