State ex rel. Mitchell v. Robbins & Myers, Inc.
| Court | Ohio Supreme Court |
| Writing for the Court | PER CURIAM; FRANK D. CELEBREZZE; HOLMES; HOLMES |
| Citation | State ex rel. Mitchell v. Robbins & Myers, Inc., 453 N.E.2d 721, 6 Ohio St.3d 481, 6 OBR 531 (Ohio 1983) |
| Decision Date | 07 September 1983 |
| Docket Number | No. 82-1640,82-1640 |
| Parties | , 6 O.B.R. 531 The STATE, ex rel. MITCHELL, Appellee, v. ROBBINS & MYERS, INC., et al., Appellants. |
Appellee, Napoleon S. Mitchell, was employed as a laborer with Robbins & Myers, Inc., appellant herein, when he sustained an injury to his back on August 1, 1974. Appellee continued working until August 14, 1974, but failed to report to work thereafter.
On March 20, 1975, appellee filed an application with the Bureau of Workers' Compensation for benefits, claiming that he strained his lower back while lifting a sixty-pound stator during the course and scope of his employment with Robbins & Myers, Inc. The claim was subsequently allowed for "chronic sprain and strain of the lumbosacral spine." Appellant, a self-insured employer, then began making temporary total disability payments to appellee. The payments, however, were discontinued after approximately eight weeks.
Appellee then filed an application with the Industrial Commission, also an appellant in this appeal, for additional benefits. On September 2, 1980, a hearing was conducted before a district hearing officer regarding the continuation of temporary total disability benefits. At the conclusion of the hearing, the district hearing officer issued the following order: " * * * [T]hat claimant is not totally disabled at this time." This finding was upheld by the Dayton Regional Board of Review and the commission affirmed.
Thereafter, appellee brought this action in mandamus in the court of appeals alleging that the commission's order is unsupported by the evidence and therefore constituted an abuse of discretion. The court of appeals allowed the writ.
The cause is now before this court on an appeal as of right.
Michael J. Muldoon, Columbus, for appellee.
Martin, Browne Hull & Harper and William R. Groves, Springfield, for appellant Robbins & Myers, Inc.
Anthony J. Celebrezze, Jr., Atty. Gen., and Robert J. Kent, Asst. Atty. Gen., for appellant Industrial Com'n of Ohio.
In the syllabus of State ex rel. Ramirez v. Indus. Comm. (1982), 69 Ohio St.2d 630, 433 N.E.2d 586 [23 O.O.3d 518], the definition of temporary total disability was set forth as follows: "Under R.C. 4123.56, temporary total disability is defined as a disability which prevents a worker from returning to his former position of employment."
In addition to the aforementioned definition, this court has recognized that " * * * there must be a causal connection between an injury arising out of and in the course of a worker's employment and his harm or disability * * *." Gilbert v. Midland-Ross (1981), 67 Ohio St.2d 267, 270, 423 N.E.2d 847 [21 O.O.3d 168]. See, also, Fox v. Indus. Comm. (1955), 162 Ohio St. 569, 125 N.E.2d 1 [55 O.O. 472].
Appellants do not contest that the medical evidence included in the record indicates that appellee's disability prevents him from returning to his former position of employment. Rather, it is appellants' contention that certain medical evidence of record clearly indicates that appellee's disability was attributable to a prior back injury, occurring in late 1968, and not from any incident which occurred on August 1, 1974.
In support of this contention, appellants rely upon the medical reports of Drs. Paul J. Matrka and John Q. Brown. Dr. Matrka's medical report provides, in part, as follows:
Dr. Brown's conclusion provides:
Based upon these medical reports, as well as hospital records relating to appellee's 1968 injury, appellants argue that the reasoning for the denial of the claim by the district hearing officer, which was subsequently affirmed by the commission, is that no direct and proximate causal relation exists between the August 1974 injury and appellee's disability. Specifically, appellants maintain that appellee's disability stems from degenerative arthritis resulting from his injury in 1968.
As cogently observed by the court of appeals, the reasoning forwarded by the district hearing officer in denying the claim and the reasoning now advanced by appellants is markedly different. Although evidence of a prior injury exists within the record, the commission's order denying compensation does not indicate that appellee's disability was unrelated to the August 1974 occurrence; instead, the order simply states "that [the] claimant is not totally disabled at this time." (Emphasis added.)
Appellants correctly state that causal connection is a necessary condition precedent to obtaining an award under the Workers' Compensation Act. Fox, supra. However, it is incumbent upon district hearing officers, regional boards of review and the commission to weigh the evidence and reach a conclusion regarding causation, as well as the existence and degree of a claimed disability.
The subject order contains no qualifications. As such, we construe the order in a single fashion; that is, that appellee was not at the time of the hearing disabled from any injury. A careful review and examination of the record, however, reveals that there is no evidence to support this finding as all of the evidence contained therein indicates that appellee was temporarily and totally disabled and that he could not return to his former position of employment. Accordingly we apply the rationale set forth in State ex rel. Kramer v. Indus. Comm. (1979), 59 Ohio St.2d 39, 42, 391 N.E.2d 1015 [13 O.O.3d 30], wherein it was concluded that "[w]here there is no evidence upon which the commission could have based its factual conclusion an abuse of discretion is present and mandamus becomes appropriate."
Moreover, if, as appellants suggest, the district hearing officer and the commission had actually meant something else when the order was issued and subsequently approved, then they should have so stated. See, e.g., R.C. 4123.515 which requires district hearing officers to state the reasons for their decisions. E...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
State ex rel. Rouch v. Eagle Tool & Mach. Co.
...rel. Milburn, v. Indus. Comm. (1986), 26 Ohio St.3d 119, 498 N.E.2d 440, attempting to undermine State, ex. rel. Mitchell, v. Robbins & Myers, Inc. (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 481, 453 N.E.2d 721.The commission abuses its discretion only where the record is devoid of "some evidence" supporting its......
-
State ex rel. Gatlin v. Yellow Freight System, Inc.
...be reconsidered. In short, the court of appeals based the issuance of the writ on our decision in State, ex rel. Mitchell, v. Robbins & Myers, Inc. (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 481, 453 N.E.2d 721. The cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of right. Joseph A. Marchese, Columbus, for appe......
-
State, ex rel. Elliott v. Industrial Com'n of Ohio
...a brief explanation stating why the claimant is or is not entitled to the benefits requested." State, ex rel. Mitchell, v. Robbins & Myers Inc. (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 481, 483-484, 453 N.E.2d 721. In its order herein, the Commission stated it relied upon the reports of Drs. Kackley, Braunlin ......
-
State ex rel. Chrysler Corp. v. Industrial Com'n of Ohio
...did not preclude subsequent TTD; (4) the commission's explanation was adequate under State ex rel. Mitchell v. Robbins & Myers, Inc. (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 481, 6 OBR 531, 453 N.E.2d 721; and (5) Chrysler is not entitled to reimbursement from the Surplus Fund. Accordingly, we reverse. Some Ev......