Wallace v. Board of Trustees
| Court | North Carolina Court of Appeals |
| Writing for the Court | HUNTER. |
| Citation | Wallace v. Board of Trustees, 145 N.C.App. 264, 550 S.E.2d 552 (N.C. App. 2001) |
| Decision Date | 07 August 2001 |
| Docket Number | No. COA00-767.,COA00-767. |
| Parties | Jane A. WALLACE, Petitioner, v. BOARD OF TRUSTEES, Local Government Employees' Retirement System, Respondent. |
Lynn A. Andrews, Durham, for petitioner-appellee.
Attorney General Michael F. Easley, by Assistant Attorney General Robert M. Curran, for respondent-appellant. HUNTER, Judge.
Respondent-appellant Board of Trustees Local Governmental Employees Retirement System ("Board") appeals the trial court's reversal of its final agency decision in which the Board decided Jane A. Wallace ("petitioner") was not entitled to disability retirement benefits for the months of March 1997 and October 1997 through May 1999. Having reviewed the whole record before us, we reverse the trial court's ruling.
Facts pertinent to this appeal are as follows: Petitioner "suffers from a bipolar, or manic-depressive, mood disorder." In 1988, she gained full-time employment with Trend Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Authority Center ("Trend") and "became a contributing member of the Retirement system." During the first several years with Trend, petitioner was able to manage her illness with medication and received several promotions, moving into a management-level position in 1994. However, Thus in February 1997, with the permission of her employer, petitioner left her full-time management position and began working as a part-time substance abuse counselor. This change was both a reduction in pay and a demotion in position for petitioner.
Also in February 1997, petitioner submitted to her employer an application for disability retirement. Under the section of the application entitled "Employer Certification" was noted that petitioner "[h]as not terminated" and that "[e]mployee is still employ[ed]." Additionally, in forwarding petitioner's disability application to the Retirement System, Trend's human resources director, Rick Wagner, attached a cover letter to the application in which he stated:
Jane Wallace was out of work for an extended period of time due to health reasons but she has returned to work on a reduced schedule. She requested reclassification from 100% FTE Substance Abuse Program Supervisor at $33,074 to 71% FTE Substance Abuse Counselor II position at $22,391. This change reduces her work time, salary, and supervisory responsibilities and she feels that this may qualify her for disability benefits. At this time she has not indicated if she plans to stop working due to her disability.
(Emphasis added.) In response, the Retirement System returned petitioner's application attaching an "Information Checklist" which stated that in order to "fully process [petitioner's] application for retirement," the application needed to be notarized and certain payroll information, which had been requested on the form but was missing, needed to be completed.
Petitioner sent a second disability retirement application to the Retirement System on 4 March 1997, which included the information requested by way of the "Information Checklist." Again, in the section entitled "Employer Certification," the words "full time" were inserted "[w]here the form asked for the [petitioner's] last day of employment." Additionally, in response to the request to "[i]ndicate last day [petitioner] worked (physically on job)," "2/8/97 [—] employee is still employed part time in reduced capacity" was clearly written in the space provided.
Mr. Barnes continued:
Then, in response to whether the benefit booklet is "distributed to all members of the Local Retirement System," Mr. Barnes answered:
[W]henever we reprint the benefit booklet, which is generally—sometimes we do it annually, but, generally, it's about every two years that we update that booklet. And whenever we update that, it is distributed to each employer that participates in the System, and we provide them more than enough copies to distribute to their employees.
However in her recommended decision, upon making appropriate findings Judge Becton concluded, among other things, that:
2. In the present case, it is clear that at the time [petitioner] was approved for disability, she was able to engage in gainful employment, albeit in a limited capacity and at reduced hours from her usual occupation. The [applicable] statute specifically provides that the ability to engage in gainful employment does not preclude the receipt of disability benefits....
Thus, Judge Becton recommended that the Final Decision of the Board:
(1) reinstate [petitioner]'s disability payments effective March 1, 1997, pursuant to N.C. Gen.Stat. § 128-27(c)[;] (2) schedule [petitioner]'s disability case for periodic medical review, pursuant to N.C. Gen.Stat. § 128-27(e); and (3) any adjustment of [petitioner]'s disability allowance which may be required be prospective only, pursuant to N.C. Gen.Stat. § 128-27(e)(1) and 20 NCAC 2C.0503.
Nevertheless, in its final agency decision, the Board rejected the majority of Judge Becton's findings and conclusions, and concluded, solely on the basis of N.C. Gen.Stat. § 128-21 and N.C. Admin. Code tit. 20, r. 2c.0802 (September 1977), that:
Petitioner petitioned the superior court for judicial review on the basis that: the Board had failed to review the entire record before it, as required by law; that the Board had unlawfully gone outside of the official record (evidenced by the fact that "some of [its] findings ... were not supported by any evidence contained in the official record"); that statutory law quoted by the Board in support of its final agency decision does not apply to the situation at hand and does not address the petitioner's claim to disability retirement benefits; that the Board's decision is "[u]nsupported by substantial evidence admissible," and; that the Board's decision is arbitrary and capricious.
After making many detailed findings, including that Judge Becton's findings of fact contained in her ALJ recommended decision were supported by substantial admissible evidence of record, and that the Board "did not consider the `official record' as defined by N.C.G.S. 150B-37 and 150B-42(b) ... despite statements to the contrary contained in the Final Agency Decision[,]" the trial court concluded:
Thus, the trial court reversed the Board's final agency decision and...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Strong v. Police Pension and Retirement Bd.
...of Trustees of the Police & Firemen's Retirement Sys., 340 N.J.Super. 473, 774 A.2d 680, 688-89 (2001); Wallace v. Board of Trustees, 145 N.C.App. 264, 550 S.E.2d 552, 560 (2001), review denied, 354 N.C. 580, 559 S.E.2d 553 (2001); State ex rel. Shumway v. State Teachers Retirement Board, 1......
-
Allen v. Dept. of Health and Human Services
...the `whole record' test." This Court's scope of review "is the same as that utilized by the trial court." Wallace v. Board of Tr., 145 N.C.App. 264, 274, 550 S.E.2d 552, 558, disc. review denied, 354 N.C. 580, 559 S.E.2d 553 "`De novo' review requires a court to consider a question anew, as......
-
N.C. Dep't of Envtl. Quality v. TRK Dev., LLC
... ... if such estoppel will impair the exercise of the governmental powers of the entity." Wallace v. Bd. of Tr. , 145 N.C. App. 264, 277, 550 S.E.2d 552, 560 (citation omitted), disc. review ... State Bd. of Educ. , 159 N.C. App. 568, 578, 583 S.E.2d 629, 636 (2003) (holding that State Board of Education could not be estopped from approving school merger where "application of the estoppel ... review denied , 357 N.C. 62, 579 S.E.2d 387 (2003), and Fike v. Board of Trustees , 53 N.C. App. 78, 279 S.E.2d 910, disc. review denied , 304 N.C. 194, 285 S.E.2d 98 (1981) ... ...
-
Jordan v. CIVIL SERVICE BD. OF CHARLOTTE
...570 S.E.2d 912153 NC App. 691Shannon N. JORDAN, Plaintiff ... CIVIL SERVICE BOARD FOR the CITY OF CHARLOTTE et al, Defendants ... No. COA01-418 ... Court of Appeals of North ... review of the trial court's decision is the same as that utilized by the trial court." Wallace v. Board of Tr., 145 N.C.App. 264, 274, 550 S.E.2d 552, 558, disc. review denied, 354 N.C. 580, 559 ... ...