Willoughby v. Arthur G. McKee & Co.
| Court | Montana Supreme Court |
| Writing for the Court | HARRISON; HASWELL |
| Citation | Willoughby v. Arthur G. McKee & Co., 609 P.2d 700, 187 Mont. 253, 37 St.Rep. 620 (Mont. 1980) |
| Decision Date | 01 April 1980 |
| Docket Number | No. 79-10,79-10 |
| Parties | Clarence WILLOUGHBY, Claimant and Respondent, v. ARTHUR G. McKEE & CO., Employer, and General Accident Fire & Life, Defendant and Appellant. |
Henningsen, Purcell & Genzberger, Butte, for appellant.
Burgess, Joyce & Whelan, Butte, for respondent.
This is an appeal from an order of the Workers' Compensation Court granting claimant, Clarence Willoughby, a partial lump sum settlement of benefits due.
Claimant is a fifty-eight year old man whose work history consists of holding jobs in heavy labor. He has been employed as a miner, concrete finisher, and bricklayer. In November 1974 claimant was employed as a bricklayer for the Arthur G. McKee Company. During that month he suffered an industrial accident injury while performing construction work for his employer at the Anaconda smelter in Anaconda, Montana. He fell off a scaffold which was located approximately six feet above a concrete floor and sustained injuries to his neck, left arm and left thumb. He has not worked since the accident. Claimant underwent a spinal fusion and surgery to his left elbow and thumb.
At the time of the injury, claimant was earning approximately $9.50 per hour or $380 weekly. He had no education or work experience in any other type of employment, and his formal education consisted of completing grades one through eight.
A petition for compensation was filed with the Workers' Compensation Court to determine what benefits, if any, to which claimant was entitled. A hearings examiner, Robert B. Sherman, was appointed by the court, and a hearing was held with respect to the petition on April 19, 1978. After the hearing, the examiner entered findings of fact and conclusions of law. The examiner found that claimant was entitled to compensation, as a totally and permanently disabled person under the Workers' Compensation Act, and that claimant was entitled to compensation for all medical expenses incurred with respect to injuries which were causally related to the accident in November. On September 21, 1978, the Workers' Compensation Court adopted the examiner's findings of fact and conclusions of law.
During the settlement of the workers' compensation claim and following the Workers' Compensation Court's order, McKee Company's insurance carrier, General Accident Fire and Life, made payments to claimant. Claimant also received benefits under the Social Security Disability Act. Pursuant to section 39-71-702, MCA, the carrier reduced claimant's workers' compensation benefits by one-half of the benefits received under the Social Security Act. On August 8, 1978, it was discovered that General Accident had overpaid claimant by approximately $8,180.38. The Workers' Compensation Court ordered claimant to make repayment of that amount at a weekly rate of $25.
Including his liability for repayment, claimant presently receives individual weekly benefits of $96.29 from Social Security and $23.26 from Workers' Compensation, or $518.85 in total individual monthly benefits. This compares to his monthly salary of approximately $1,650 while he was working as a bricklayer. Claimant also receives two auxiliary benefits for his minor children, who live in Seattle with claimant's first wife. Claimant was divorced and has since remarried.
On May 13, 1979, claimant petitioned the Workers' Compensation Court for a partial lump sum settlement. Attached to the petition was a list of expenses to which the settlement, if granted, was to be applied. The expenses were the following:
House Trailer 1,064.83
Refrigerator and TV 195.10
Lot Rental 40.00
Phone 48.04
Power 178.22
Water 17.70
Hospital 55.10
Bernie's Pharmacy 43.04
Dr. Rotar 15.50
Durritts 36.00
Bill Willoughby--personal loan--
brother 375.00
Walnut St. Grocery 60.00
Taxes on House Trailer 423.00
Trailer Insurance 127.00
A-1 Ambulance 15.00
Car--monthly payments 8,000.00
New Roof on Trailer 1,000.00
Monthly Reserve 400.00
----------
TOTAL $12,093.53
A hearing was held on August 30, 1979 with respect to the petition. The only evidence presented at the hearing was claimant's testimony. On September 10, 1979, the Workers' Compensation Court ordered that the petition be granted in the amount requested. From this order, appellant in this action, General Accident Fire and Life, appeals.
A single issue is presented for review: Did the Workers' Compensation Court abuse its discretion in granting claimant's petition for a partial lump sum settlement?
Statutory authority for the conversion of regular periodic benefits payable under the Workers' Compensation Act to a total or partial lump sum settlement is found in section 39-71-741, MCA. In 1979, section 39-71-741, MCA, was amended to give the Workers' Compensation Court the authority to settle disputes concerning lump sum settlements where an insurer and a claimant disagreed. Prior to 1979 the sole discretion for determining the amount and advisability of lump sum settlements was vested in either the Workers' Compensation Division or the Industrial Accident Board.
The general rule concerning the award or denial of lump sum settlements under the Workers' Compensation Act is well settled in this state. Lump sum settlements are only granted in exceptional circumstances. Where the best interests of the claimant are generally served by paying compensation in regular periodic installments the conversion of benefits to a lump sum settlement has been recognized as the exception rather than the rule. Utick v. Utick (State Comp. Ins. Fund) (1979), Mont., 593 P.2d 739, 741, 36 St.Rep. 799, 801; Kuehn v. Nat. Farmers Union Co. (1974), 164 Mont. 303, 307, 521 P.2d 921, 923; Legowik v. Montgomery Ward (1971), 157 Mont. 436, 440, 486 P.2d 867, 869; Kent v. Sievert (1971), 158 Mont. 79, 81, 489 P.2d 104, 105.
"
" " Laukaitis v. Sisters of Charity (1959), 135 Mont. 469, 472-73, 342 P.2d 752, 755.
Lump sum settlements are only granted where there is "outstanding indebtedness," "pressing need," or where "the best interests of the claimant, his family and the general public will be served."
Kuehn v. Nat. Farmers Union Co., supra, 164 Mont. at 307, 521 P.2d at 924.
In this case, we are faced with reviewing whether the Workers' Compensation Court should have awarded a lump sum settlement to claimant. Where we have considered this issue in other cases, we have stated that the decision to award or deny a lump sum settlement will not be interfered with on appeal unless there has been an abuse of discretion. Utick v. State Comp. Ins. Fund, supra; Sullivan v. Anselmo Mining Corp. (1928), 82 Mont. 543, 557-58, 268 P. 495, 501; Landeen v. Toole County Refining Co. (1929), 85 Mont. 41, 47, 277 P. 615, 617. The findings of the lower tribunal or board will be presumed correct and affirmed if supported by substantial evidence. Newman v. Kamp (1962), 140 Mont. 487, 490, 374 P.2d 100, 102. The decision will be reversed, however, if the evidence clearly preponderates against it. Legowik, supra.
Here, the Workers' Compensation Court based its decision to award claimant a partial lump sum settlement on the basis of evidence adduced at a hearing. Claimant, the only witness testifying, presented evidence of several outstanding debts. He testified, for example, that he owed an outstanding balance on a TV and refrigerator he had purchased and that he was "behind" on his grocery, phone, water and power bills. A letter from the Montana Power Company was introduced with respect to his power bill. It stated that services would be terminated if claimant's account was not paid in full. Claimant also presented evidence that payments remained on his trailer house, that additional sums were owed for taxes and insurances, and that expenses had been incurred for the rental of his trailer house lot.
In addition to these debts, claimant testified that he needed money for future expenses. His trailer house roof needed repair, he...
Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI
Get Started for FreeStart Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant
-
Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database
-
Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength
-
Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities
-
Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting
Start Your Free Trial
-
Daniels v. Kalispell Regional Hosp.
...her pressing needs. Belton v. Carlson Transport (Mont.1986), 714 P.2d 148, 150, 43 St.Rep. 286, 288; Willoughby v. Arthur McKee & Co. (1980), 187 Mont. 253, 257, 609 P.2d 700, 702. This Court will not, however, disturb a denial of lump sum unless the claimant can show an abuse of discretion......
-
Komeotis v. Williamson Fencing
...e.g., Polich v. Whalen's O.K. Tire Warehouse (Mont.1981), 634 P.2d 1162, 1164, 38 St.Rep. 1572, 1574; Willoughby v. Arthur G. McKee & Co. (1980), 187 Mont. 253, 257, 609 P.2d 700, 702; Utick v. Utick (1979), 181 Mont. 351, 355, 593 P.2d 739, The record clearly indicates, through the testimo......
-
Krause v. Sears Roebuck & Co.
...disfavor and should be awarded without hesitancy where the claimant's interest would be best served. Willoughby v. Arthur G. McKee & Co. (1980), Mont., 609 P.2d 700, 702, 37 St.Rep. 620; Utick v. Utick (1979), Mont., 593 P.2d 739, 741, 36 St.Rep. 799; Laukaitis v. Sisters of Charity of Leav......
-
Hock v. Lienco Cedar Products
...interests of the claimant, his family and the general public are served justify such a settlement. Willoughby v. Arthur G. McKee & Co. (1980), Mont., 609 P.2d 700, 702, 37 St.Rep. 620, 623; Kuehn v. National Farmers Union Property & Cas. Co. (1974), 164 Mont. 303, 307, 521 P.2d 921, 924. Th......