Ross v. American Red Cross

CourtSouth Carolina Supreme Court
Writing for the CourtCHANDLER; GREGORY
CitationRoss v. American Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (S.C. 1989)
Decision Date23 January 1989
Docket NumberNo. 23026,23026
PartiesGeorge Anna ROSS, Deceased Employee, Paula Ross, Daughter, Mr. and Mrs. G.W. Mason, Parents, Respondents, v. AMERICAN RED CROSS, Employer, and The Travelers Insurance Company, Carrier, Appellants. . Heard

Ernest G. Lawhorne, of Nauful & Ellis, P.A., Columbia, for appellants.

Sally M. Walker, Columbia, for respondents.

CHANDLER, Justice:

American Red Cross (Employer) appeals a Circuit Court reversal of a Workers' Compensation Commission Order denying death benefits to Respondent beneficiaries of a deceased employee, George Anna Ross. Employer contends that the Full Commission's findings of fact are supported by substantial evidence, and, therefore, its decision must be affirmed. We agree.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Ross was employed as a nurse for the collection of blood from donors. On January 9 she reported to work at 11:00 a.m. and, although an asthmatic, exhibited no unusual breathing difficulties throughout the day.

After dining at a nearby restaurant in mid-afternoon, Ross worked until approximately 7:00 p.m. Shortly prior thereto her daughter, Paula, and Paula's boyfriend, Chris Galuskin, arrived, at which time Ross was experiencing an asthma attack. A co-worker who observed her outside the building suggested she go home.

After being at home for a short time, Ross' condition worsened. She was then taken to the emergency room of a local hospital by Paula and Chris where, at approximately 7:50 p.m., she died from respiratory failure.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Respondents filed a claim for benefits contending that Ross' death resulted from an asthma attack which, in turn, was precipitated by contact with a blood donor wearing very strong perfume. The Single Commissioner agreed and awarded benefits. The Full Commission reversed the award, holding that Respondents had failed to meet the burden of proving their claim. On petition for judicial review, Circuit Court reversed on the ground that there was a total lack of substantial evidence supporting the Full Commission's decision.

ISSUE

The sole issue is whether the Order of the Full Commission is supported by substantial evidence.

THE LAW APPLICABLE

Judicial review of a Workers' Compensation decision is governed by the "substantial evidence" provision of the Administrative Procedures Act. In applying this scope of review courts are guided by the following:

First, the Full Commission, as the ultimate fact-finder, may make its own findings, adverse to those of the Single Commissioner. Hunter v. Patrick Constr. Co., 289 S.C. 46, 344 S.E.2d 613 (1986); Green v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 250 S.C. 58, 156 S.E.2d 318 (1967). The final determination of witness credibility and the weight to be accorded evidence is reserved to the Full Commission. Ford v. Allied Chemical Corp., 252 S.C. 561, 167 S.E.2d 564 (1969).

Next, a reviewing court may not "substitute its judgment for that of the [Commission] as to the weight of the evidence on questions of fact." S.C.Code Ann. § 1-23-380(g) (1986). "[I]t is not the task of courts to weigh the evidence as found by the [C]ommission." Ellis v. Spartan Mills, 276 S.C. 216, 219, 277 S.E.2d 590, 591 (1981).

Finally, when factual findings are supported by substantial evidence, "analogous to a jury's findings of fact on disputed issues, the Commission's conclusions must be affirmed." Hunter, 289 S.C. at 48, 344 S.E.2d at 614. [Emphasis supplied]. "Substantial evidence is evidence which, considering the record as a whole, would allow reasonable minds to reach the conclusion that the [Commission] reached to justify its action." Howell v. Pacific Columbia Mills, 291 S.C. 469, 471, 354 S.E.2d 384, 385 (1987).

DISCUSSION

Respondents offered Paula's testimony in support of their contention that Ross' severe breathing problems were brought on by exposure to a woman "bathed in perfume." Employer countered with testimony from several of Ross' co-workers that they noticed no one wearing strong perfume, and that at no time did Ross complain to them about her contact with such a person.

Moreover, expert medical witnesses testified to causes of the asthma attack, other than contact with strong perfume.

Dr. Ben Miller, an internal specialist who had treated Ross since her childhood, stated that "[i]n her case so often infection was the thing that brought on her attacks."

According to Dr. Richard...

Get this document and AI-powered insights with a free trial of vLex and Vincent AI

Get Started for Free

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex

Start Your Free Trial of vLex and Vincent AI, Your Precision-Engineered Legal Assistant

  • Access comprehensive legal content with no limitations across vLex's unparalleled global legal database

  • Build stronger arguments with verified citations and CERT citator that tracks case history and precedential strength

  • Transform your legal research from hours to minutes with Vincent AI's intelligent search and analysis capabilities

  • Elevate your practice by focusing your expertise where it matters most while Vincent handles the heavy lifting

vLex
41 cases
  • Aughtry v. Abbeville County Sch. Dist.
    • United States
    • South Carolina Court of Appeals
    • August 13, 1998
    ...fact finder in Workers' Compensation cases and is not bound by the Single Commissioner's findings of fact. Ross v. American Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (1989). See also Hoxit v. Michelin Tire Corp., 304 S.C. 461, 405 S.E.2d 407 (1991) (Full Commission is fact finder and it is no......
  • Sharpe v. Case Produce Co.
    • United States
    • South Carolina Court of Appeals
    • December 2, 1997
    ...fact finder in Workers' Compensation cases and is not bound by the Single Commissioner's findings of fact. Ross v. American Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (1989). The findings of the Commission are presumed correct and will be set aside only if unsupported by substantial evidence. ......
  • Muir v. CR Bard, Inc.
    • United States
    • South Carolina Court of Appeals
    • June 21, 1999
    ...fact finder in Workers' Compensation cases and is not bound by the Single Commissioner's findings of fact. Ross v. American Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (1989). See also Hoxit v. Michelin Tire Corp., 304 S.C. 461, 405 S.E.2d 407 (1991) (Full Commission is fact finder and it is no......
  • Mullinax v. Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc.
    • United States
    • South Carolina Court of Appeals
    • October 6, 1994
    ...courts that " '[i]t is not the task of courts to weigh the evidence as found by the [C]ommission.' " Ross v. American Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 492, 381 S.E.2d 728, 730 (1989). Most recently, in Parsons v. Georgetown Steel, --- S.C. ----, 456 S.E.2d 366 (S.C.Sup.Ct.1995) (Davis Adv.Sh. No. 6......
  • Get Started for Free
3 books & journal articles
  • Chapter 12 Appeals
    • United States
    • South Carolina Bar The Law of Workers’ Compensation Insurance in South Carolina (SCBar)
    • Invalid date
    ...192 (1978); Tennant v. Beaufort County School District, 381 S.C. 617, 674 S.E.2d 488 (2009).[99] 289 S.C. 46, 344 S.E.2d 613 (1986).[100] 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (1989); see also Bartley v. Allendale County School District, 392 S.C. 300, 709 S.E.2d 619 (2011).[101] S.C. Code Ann. § 1-2......
  • Chapter 3 Accident
    • United States
    • South Carolina Bar The Law of Workers’ Compensation Insurance in South Carolina (SCBar)
    • Invalid date
    ...had suffered no ill effects when given penicillin by Margie Bradley on previous occasions."83--------Notes:[1] See Ross v. Am. Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (1989); Brady v. Sacony of St. Matthews, 232 S.C. 84, 101 S.E.2d 50 (1957); Fleming v. Appleton Co., 214 S.C. 81, 51 S.E.2d ......
  • Chapter 6 Specific Injuries
    • United States
    • South Carolina Bar The Law of Workers’ Compensation Insurance in South Carolina (SCBar)
    • Invalid date
    ...43, 24 S.E.2d 116 (1943) (painter contracted lead poisoning induced by inhalation of old paint dust). See also Ross v. American Red Cross, 298 S.C. 490, 381 S.E.2d 728 (1989) (substantial evidence to uphold Commission's finding that decedent's asthma attack was not caused by decedent's expo......